It’s no surprise, but the human footprint is staggering and National Geographic solidified that fact even further.

Did anyone happen to catch the documentary, “Human Footprint” on the National Geographic channel? Considering Earth Day is next week, there was much hype for this compelling documentary on human consumption.
Human Footprint

The Times did a review on the show and said,

“Human Footprint” tracks supposedly typical consumers from diaper-wearing infancy to medication-dependent old age” Not surprisingly, Americans continue to out-big-foot everyone else when it comes to consumption. Although only 5 percent of the global population, Americans are said to use more than one-quarter of the world’s energy.

I found the segment where they dissected a car and revealed the different components and those components’ origins extremely interesting. It’s one of those unspoken realities I suppose, but I found it astounding when Elizabeth Vargas spelled out the many different countries that are involved in piecing together one vehicle. And to think, we Americans, on average, will own up to 12 vehicles in our lifetime…

Any time I see documentaries like this, I’m reminded of my gluttonous ways. I have to hang my head for a bit; but at the same time, it reinforces the importance for eco-lightenment (can’t remember where I saw this term, but I’m totally borrowing it!) to do my part to make a change in our family’s footprint.
If you didn’t get a chance to see the show, I’m sure it’ll replay again soon. Until then, check out Nat Geo’s site for more information.

::
The show got me thinking about my own carbon footprint. I remember calculating it awhile back, but I haven’t done it again since we’ve tried to become greener. There are various carbon calculators out there, but I did the Carbon Calculator on Nature Conservancy. According to the conservation organization,


My estimated greenhouse gas emissions is 23 tons of carbon dioxide (CO2) equivalent per year, which is below the U.S. national average.


comparison

My Carbon Footprint pie chart

I can “see” a difference, but always room for more change. Go ahead, have a look and calculate your footprint.

