Last night, I noticed the carbon monoxide alarm plugged into the kitchen socket. I was confused.

Just the night before, it was beeping every 2 minutes as a reminder that it was out of battery juice. I unplugged it yesterday morning and placed it on the kitchen counter, as if it were going to miraculously replace its own batteries.

So when I saw it there all plugged in last night, sans the crazy phantom beeping, I had to ask Jeff if he should be applauded for being the carbonmonoxided.jpgresponsible battery replacer.

I looked at the white box plugged into the wall and cognizantly, yet incoherently asked, “Did you fix the monoxinizer?”

The dude could not stop bellowing with hysterics enough to even look at me.

Finally, he took a breath and said, “What did you just say?”

monoxinizer?” I mumbled.

When the word left my lips that second time, I realized that not only did I botch the word, but I just added fuel to the fire.

“ugh. YOU know what I’m talking about!”

In between the hysterics, he answered, “yes, the flux capacitator is working just fine.”

In between work deadlines, helping with dinner, feeding the boy, trying to ignore my mom’s veiled comments and balancing everything else, it’s no wonder I feel so brain dead by the end of the day.

So, I often wonder is it just me?

Of course not!

I was practically jumping up for joy when I was greeted with this blog entry on my RSS feed this morning. The author’s comments made so much sense to me. And I agree, it’s not just new moms. It came full circle and resonated as to why my mom, even to this day, in a fury always calls me John, my older brother, Jen and my younger brother, Jeff.

She obviously hasn’t forgotten our names. In the same vein, we aren’t solely to blame for her neverending bouts of momnesia.

As the article from USA Today says,

“Fatigue is a killer issue for memory,” says John Gabrieli, a neuroscience professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Mommy brain, brain farts, momnesia– call it what you will, but millions of other moms will contend that this is not a new theory. As USA Today says, momnesia is a theory that scientists acknowledge.

While researchers say they can’t explain all the ways motherhood affects a woman’s memory, they agree there’s a pattern.

It’s easy to become a victim of full plates and overflowing laundry lists. Especially in the first month, when I was trying to wrap my brain around this mom business and working off of 2 hours of sleep, I constantly felt like I was all alone in my foggy haze.

And apparently, dads are affected too. When I read,

Expectant fathers produce more prolactin — a hormone that is associated with nurturing — in the weeks before birth,

I have visions of the day when Jeff came home bearing glorious gifts, specifically in a gigantic box that contained Jack’s beloved Papasan Swing. “Happy Momma=Happy Baby=Happy Daddy,” he declared after succumbing to my pleads that our newborn needed a swing, despite our tiny living room.

Oh, and more good news:

Breastfeeding can prolong the mental haze, the article says.

If that’s the case, it’s a damn good thing I have Jeff to co-pilot my new mom (mis)adventures.

Like I can relate to Debra Barone, Jeff can totally relate to Ray Barone.

In one of the more memorable episodes, Ray asks Debra if she needed a special pill to make her “feel better.”

My husband? Yeah. He lovingly calls the special pill, “the crazy pill.”

Last week when I was multitasking by cooking dinner and sanitizing bottles, with bottle sanitizer in hand, I lunged and almost stuffed the plastic contraption IN the blazing oven. I stopped 1 second short of melting the sanitizer and snapped out of my momnesia bout.
Right then, I felt like maybe I really did need a crazy pill.  But as the articles indicate, it’s no laughing matter when brain farts pose danger. Hypervigilance is imperative in all aspects of parenting.

Being a new parent with all the new responsibilities, emotional overload and transitioning has proven to be totally exasperating. And completely rewarding.

USA Today goes on to say,

“But women don’t get dumber after childbirth. Instead, like sleep-deprived medical residents who learn on the job, their brains are getting a workout.
“Once your mommy brain gets readjusted, you get more efficient, and you become smarter and learn things faster, but it won’t happen all at once.”

Most days, I feel like I’m the conductor of the crazy train, but lo and behold, scientists prove that maybe I’m just a very enthusiastic passenger. Momnesia or not, it’s reassuring to know that I’m in good company!

Toot Toot! All aboard!

