We received an interesting note from our insurance carrier last week. In the form of an itemized list of all the procedures, medication, room and board involved in bringing the boy into the world late last September, the insurance company reminded us of the mounting costs of having children and the insanity that is medical care.

As I said before, it’s no wonder we and many other couples make a conscious decision to prolong having children.

The phrase that I heard many times throughout my pregnancy, “You’ll never be ready to have kids” should be reworded to say, “You’ll never be ready to face the mounting costs.” Because, let me tell you, I believe more than anything, we were beyond ready for our kid. Nothing could ever prepare you for the staggering costs of healthcare.
Thank God for insurance.

Nevertheless, just as we anticipated, having Jack was our ultimate investment.

After all is said and done, the cost for bringing Jack home is in the $30-40K range.

*blink*  *blink*

Factor in our (personal) decision to deliver at an out of network hospital, combined with our higher cost of living, combined with a highly medicated induction ending in an unplanned/emergency c-section, you get one expensive hospital bill.

After much stress over how much we’d have to pay out of pocket due to being out of network, all’s well that ends well. We’re responsible for a much smaller fraction that we initially envisioned. Phew.

**

While we’re talking about Jack’s delivery, let me step on my soapbox for a moment…

Recently, there were reports in the news like this and this that sort of made made it sound like I didn’t want to be bothered with the whole delivery process. While yes, there are many accounts of patients and doctors going the more convenient routes. There are also contingents like my amazing girlfriend who recently had a c-section because her baby girl was 10lbs and 14 oz.

I will defend medical intervention and unplanned/emergency c-sections until I’m blue in the face.

At 6 a.m., I was the first patient that my dr. saw and at 10:30 p.m. that same day, I was also his last. Correct me if I’m wrong, but there’s nothing convenient about 27 hours of labor and 2 hrs of pushing.

I know my body and I was convinced something was wrong. Call it maternal instinct, but a million fetal monitors couldn’t confirm what I already knew: Jack was not coming on his own.

As it turned out, in addition to my speculation and confirmation in this report, due to the complications, Jack probably wouldn’t have come on his own, no matter how long I tried. It wasn’t solely because of the induction, my particular situation goes beyond those theories.

As I read and exactly what my dr. suggested, cesarean birth occurred more frequently amongst mixed-ethnicity partners than parents of the same racial or ethnic background. I spoke of it in my birth story, but another complication was Jack’s True Knot which would not allow him to completely descend. Though the dr. said it was rare and brought good luck, in reality, the tight configuration of his umbilical cord could have completely cut off all circulation which could have led to grave complications including still birth.

As are many, my C-section was the result of a medical necessity.

Moral of the story: Despite the expense, I’m glad I trusted my maternal instinct and ignored all the naysayers who drilled the thought that C-Sections are bad. Not all c-sections are done for convenience.  So, the next time someone tries to sell me a bridge by saying that C-sections are wrong, I have my own thoughts to sell: They’re not.

This dribbling, giggling boy is living proof.

