Jeff likes to tell people that “he doesn’t believe in sending/giving flowers.”

noflowers.jpgPeople, that’s a polite Jeff-ism for, “you ain’t getting any flowers!”

No, for real.

I’m not going to lie, once upon a time, I was one of those people that eyeballed the flower delivery guys on the street, and considered tackling them for those pretty orchids and hoped they’d come to my office.

But seriously, fresh cut flowers look so pretty upon receipt. After all the effort put into growing these pretty flowers, the resources to keep it alive, not to mention the pesticides, the effort in cutting and arranging, then packaging, transporting, then sending to the recipient; after all is said and done, you have a lifeless bouquet.

Pretty, but not so green. Unless they are potted plants, sustainable, locally or organically grown, fresh cut flowers aren’t the greenest of gifts.

Many people I know have ditched the Hallmark holiday all together or celebrate in a more subdued fashion. Or better yet, they celebrate all year long.

Vday Bouquet circa 2006I’ve gotten my fair share of gorgeous flowers for which I’m so grateful. But at this day and age, at least for us, flowers and candy don’t seem very applicable. This year, I have a pair of smiling faces staring back at me.

And without a doubt, the squealy affirmations of affection and requisite group hugs are way more valuable than any store-bought flower.

You can’t beat that.

Flowers or not, happy Valentine’s day, everyone!

heart2.jpg

*

want to make your own heart? go here

