For the first time in a long time, I was sad to see another year end. 2007, for us, was a year of Jen, Jeff and Jackunexpected surprises, warm welcomes and a whole new beginning. In essence, it was our year of Jack. This time last year, I was just barely pregnant and had no idea what we had in store. We were welcoming 2007 and hoping, wishing and praying that it would finally be OUR year. I can say wholeheartedly that yes, it was most certainly our year. After so much struggle, we found happiness in so many facets of our lives.

Last night, we were fortunate to have not one babysitter, but TWO since both of my parents are here visiting. As I got dressed to go out with Jeff and a few friends, I watched my parents enjoy their new grandson and remember just how much one little guy changed my entire family’s perspective. In between a nice dinner with friends andJack and dad the intermittent neighborhood boozing, Jeff and I popped back in to our place right before the ball drops– a tradition that my family has done for years when proximity allowed. When we were younger we all tried to make it a point to be together when the ball dropped, no matter what we were doing for the hours before. In a sense, to us, that togethernessMomma and babe signified togetherness for the coming year. And because he can’t stand missing a party, Mr. Jack woke up just minutes before midnight.

So, at midnight, we bid farewell to our best year yet and welcomed another year of surprises! So long 2007, you were so good to us!

Here’s to all of you, we hope your new year is filled with health, happiness, fulfillment and joy!

silly hat
born in 2007I pretty much eat everything

