With just one week to go until Christmas, I’m starting to stress a little. We have a party or three to attend before we leave to go home on Friday night; not to mention, finish various projects at work, pack our suitcases, wrap some presents and finally pack our car.

NYC ChristmasAt the beginning of the holiday season, I always remind myself to try not to overdo it. I still have to mail a few things, organize a few more details and even though I finished shopping, I still need to figure out what to do for my parents. I mean really, what do you buy for two of the most generous and supportive people on the planet? They got their biggest gift in September; besides grandparenthood–something they’d been anticipating for years– what else could I possibly give them?

Nevertheless, it’s the same story every year. We go to several parties, drink too many drinks, bake way too many cookies, buy too many gifts and by 12/23, all I want to do is sit in a corner and chug a few (more) bottles o’ wine and wait for the chaos to pass.
I love the holidays and all the joy it brings with it, but it’s completely my fault that I get inundated with lists and the buying frenzy. I often forget the spiritual significance of Christmas that my parents and grandmother instilled in me, I often forget that it’s who you’re with, not what you buy. Most importantly, I have to remind myself that it’s not the presents that matter, but the presence.

Every time I run off the bus, come home and strip off my jacket and shoes, I can’t wait to see you know who. With just one week to go, I swear, the rest of the year is going to be different. Of all the haves and the have-nots, I couldn’t have asked for the most priceless gift of all: my loving little family.

