I don’t even like eggplant, but I made this famous eggplant parmesan recipe anyway. According to this Scalini’s in GA, over 300 women have gone into labor 48 hours after eating their eggplant parmesan dish. I’d heard this tale many times, so when we went to the grocery store today, I thought it couldn’t hurt to pick up a few eggplants. I don’t usually believe in the old wives tales, but at this point, what do I have to lose?  How fun would it be to have an “eggplant baby?”  That’d be a funny story to tell.The dish turned out great, and the sauce was pretty damn good! The recipe made so much, we’ll probably have enough eggplant parm for a few weeks and then some. We chowed on a few plates tonight and like clockwork, I had a few sporadic but irregular contractions. Of course, they weren’t anything to be alarmed about, but hey, it’s something.

It’s about 1am now and I’m restless and anxious. Jeff’s been asleep for 3 hours while I’ve sat here and read in my chair. I’m not sure if it’s the anxiety or the various conversations I had with girlfriends tonight, but something’s weighing me down and I just can’t bring myself to go to bed yet. The baby’s been pretty active all night, causing me a lot of discomfort. But who knows, maybe there’s a reason for all his ruckus!

The painful contractions are coming, but unfortunately, they’re too far apart to indicate anything important. I don’t know if we’re destined to have an eggplant baby, but I’ll have to do an update tomorrow or later today!

