Appropriately enough, I had my 9th appointment marking the beginning of my 9th month today. woohoo. Or should I say, boohoo? This could be the longest month of my life!
The appointment went well per usual. Despite my insatiable appetite for Big Bacon Classics and cookies, my weight has stayed the same. There’s still no swelling to report. And thankfully, no signs of any more UTIs after that last test.

The dr. measured my belly and as previous weeks, I’ve been measuring 2 weeks ahead. We reviewed the news from my last ultrasound, which overviewed baby’s growth. After reading over my paperwork from the radiologist, the dr. looked at us with a crooked smile and told us what we already knew: “Well, based on the gestational age, baby’s looking pretty big. And from this, I’d say he’s in the 75th percentile.”

I tried to contain my frustration from his assessment, understanding that there’s a huge margin of error. And then of course he whips out the numbers: “So, if he gains an ounce a day, and you go to the end, we might be looking at the 10-lb. range. Not that he’d go all the way, but and only if this is the case, we can discuss elective C-section to see if you’re a candidate. But we’ll cross that bridge when we get there.”

And then he said things like “stuck,””3-day laboring,””safety purposes”– what exactly he was talking about, I have no idea. He lost me after the elective C-section bomb.

As any pregnant woman or previously pregnant woman knows, at this point, I’ve heard EVERYONE’s worst case scenario about anything involving baby. And C-Sections are no exception. It’s just a waiting game at this point. Our baby, our choice. Considering I’m showing classic first baby characteristics, this baby will probably sit pretty until the very end. 50% effacement, no dilation= not much progress.

I’m not going to lie though, the nausea is back in full force just like the first trimester. (To the lady on the ferry, I hope you know you were risking your life when you sprayed your perfume all over your neck with the nauseous pregnant chick sitting behind you.) Everything aches. Sitting hurts, standing’s worse and walking without a waddle is a lost memory. As much as I’d like to stay busy, I’ve had to cancel seeing a few girlfriends and a few other social obligations. I know everyone understands, but I still feel the guilt.

All’s well that end’s well, right? We’re healthy, happy and in the homestretch. What more could I ask for? (Except for my handsome chubby baby, healthy and in my arms!)

And with that, I thought I’d share my latest belly shots. These were taken today at 36weeks.

Despite the moans and groans, I’m loving life being fat, happy and very pregnant.
36w bellybelly36w 009

