It’s a rainy and chilly day here in NYC and we’re whetting our appetite for fall.  Even though I’m one to usually loathe the end of summer, the season change will definitely be an exciting turning point this year.  I know summer’s not quite over yet, (it’s going to be 90 by the weekend) but knowing that once fall officially rolls around, we’ll get some relief weather-wise, not to mention, we’ll be parents!

Fall is always my busiest time of year at work.  Traditionally, I travel more, go on more assignments, work later hours– but not this year!  However, it’s sort of fitting that I just found out today that I will be conducting an interview for a CEO in my industry, the day before I go on leave.  I’ve met this individual before at another work event, so the novelty factor should be minimized for this assignment.  But nevertheless, whenever I interview CEOs of billion dollar companies, it will always be nerve wracking.  It goes with the territory.  This time will obviously be different considering I’ll be very pregnant.  This interview’s a big one and will be the last major work assignment until I return.  Coincidentally, the interview falls on our 4th  wedding anniversary– the same date that a few people predict that I’ll deliver.  Anniversaries in our families are big for birthdays.  Our  nephews were born on anniversaries and my mom and dad’s anniversary fell on my late grandma’s birthday.  Let’s keep our fingers crossed that I make it until then AND that I don’t go into labor during my interview.  That would be a great angle for my story.

On another note, I’ve started to officially waddle.  I can completely understand now why many pregnant women waddle.  Obviously, every woman is different and probably waddles for different reasons, but for me, the pressure and pain that go along with the heavy belly and lightening make it almost impossible to walk freely.  Up until recently, I never really had a problem, but now that the baby is dropping, the aches and pains associated with the my body’s preparation for delivery, elongate my walks to and from the train, as well as up and down all the stairs.  My dr. best described the lightening as someone kicking you swiftly in the groin.  Can you say, ouch?  Our new comfy chair couldn’t have arrived at a better time.  By the end of the day, I’m so uncomfortable that chair is such a saving grace!  That’s the last of my whining for today.

Today also marks my last ultrasound.  This ultrasound is meant to figure out his estimated measurements, weight and fluid levels.  It’s an exciting but scary appointment, mainly because I’m somewhat nervous to find out the estimate of the baby’s weight and measurements.  I know these measurements are never accurate, so as long as he’s progressing healthily, I shouldn’t complain.  However, I can’t help but feel fearful at the thought of his size.  Aside from the fact that we’re both generally bigger framed people, if we’re going strictly by genes, the interracial mix could pose some interesting factors for delivery.  Let’s hope that’s not the case.  Nevertheless, I’m excited to “see” him one last time before he arrives.

