It’s the end of the week thank goodness! With deadlines looming and a month left to go until maternity leave, work has been especially hectic. It’s been so hectic that I haven’t had a chance to mention the latest baby developments.

I mentioned the Braxton Hicks contractions that I started to notice the other weekend. They’ve been around all week– nothing too crazy, just uncomfortable at times. Well just a few days ago, I started having somewhat painful contractions…painful enough to stop in mid-sentence and double over in pain. Since I’d just spoken to the nurse who called me the day before, I haven’t been too worried. Well, that was until tonight. The pains were so alarming tonight I started to sweat. I got up and walked around and thought about calling the dr. if it got worse. Thankfully, the pain went away and a new ailment took its place!

The new ailment was a dull ache on the left side of my ribcage. I’ve been having this same pain all week whenever I sit down for dinner. It’s only at home, when I sit straight up at the table. It’s the strangest thing. After doing a little bit of reading and poking in my ribs, we realized that it’s the baby’s foot in my ribs. I know a lot of people who’ve felt this before, but I always thought it was an exaggeration. haha not so much. So, yes, the baby is using my ribcage as his personal ottoman while I try to eat dinner. I had Jeff tuck his tiny foot in so that the pain would subside, but if I sat back up, he’d prop those toes back to where he had them. too funny!

We have another busy busy weekend ahead of us. Our neighbors/friends get married today, so we get to party down with a bunch of buddies. On Saturday, we have our much anticipated marathon Child Birth class. While I’d much rather be doing other stuff all day on a sunshiney Saturday, the class is being held at our hospital and who knows, we might actually learn something pertinent to this whole birthing business.  We know tons of people who say it’s a waste of time and money, but hey, we’d like to find that out for ourselves.

It’s so hard to believe that July is practically over! Wow. After this Child Birth class, we don’t have many more pregnancy milestones. We’ll basically be in that waiting period…where anything could happen! Yikes!

Happy Birthday to our beautiful niece Britney who’s going to be the best big sister cousin 🙂

