Why is it the day before vacation always seems to drag beyond belief? haha.

I got up at 5am today– that’s how excited I am about heading home. Our car’s packed, I’m heading down south via train to meet Jeff after work and we’re anticipating the usual long 350 mile drive home tonight.

Jeff made 15 trips up and down the stairs to the car last night and this morning and meticulously packed the car. Lugging all of my junk combined with the crazy heat almost made for an excuse to rip my head off this morning. Speaking of which, my husband is such a trooper. I mean, he always is… but as I constantly mention, he’s taken on so many extra duties around the house. He insists that my job is to relax when I get home from work. It’s definitely hard to sit around and watch him do most of the chores, but in this heat and the way it takes me almost an hour to cool all the way down, I can’t thank him enough for being so helpful.

With all of this excitement about going home, I can’t help but be nostalgic about my attitude about the 757. It’s so funny, in high school I used to moan about how much I hated VB, and how life would be so much better elsewhere! I just couldn’t wait to leave! It’s 13 years later, and having lived away from there for so long now, I can’t help but laugh at the irony of it all.

Yesterday, I was flipping through a magazine supplement called Girlfriend Getaways. (cute little publication btw!) Anyway, in the middle of the mag, this full page ad of a woman sitting in her convertible with a surfboard hanging out caught my attention. She’s looking out at the sunset, dreaming about something– perhaps, checking out a cute boy?

I couldn’t help but smile and remember how much I loved going to the beach whenever I wanted. I’d go when I was sad, I’d go when we were celebrating something, I’d go to relax, I’d go when I wanted to be alone, I’d go to meet boys– whatever. VB was such a cool place to grow up, and I love love going home. When I looked closer at the ad, I realized that the ad is for Virginia Beach. Appropriately enough, our hometown is urging you to Live the Life.

Picture perfect magazine ad aside, our love for Virginia Beach is hinged upon so many things: our family, our best friends, great memories, wonderful childhoods and of course, the basis of our relationship–all of which are the most wonderful aspects of our lives.

The beach is home

It’s hard to believe this will be the last trip for a long while. It’ll be another bittersweet visit, knowing that this will be the last time we’re going home sans baby. The next time we visit, we’ll have the kid in tow. I hope one day, he learns to love and embrace the Beach, just like mom and dad. Not just any beach, Virginia Beach 🙂

Like the computer junkie I am, I’m going to try and ween myself off of the computer while on vacation. I may check in over the weekend. Until then, be well. And for the VB contingent, we’ll see you this week!!

