After all that whining, the appointment went well. I survived that glucose drink and the requisite diabetes screening. I imagine the results will be back in next week.

I had my favorite dr. this time around and we discussed a plethora of topics that again, made me realize how fast everything’s going. First off, my weight is still on track– something I can hardly believe. Secondly, the dr. somewhat confirmed what I kind of suspected at the very beginning: based on my size and the 2 different sets of the level II ultrasounds, I’m measuring about a week ahead. Whether the little man comes in mid-September, late September or whenever he’s done cooking, we’ll be thrilled regardless.

I asked the dr. a few questions that have been on my mind. Since Jeff and I have been grappling over whether or not to do the 3d ultrasound, I asked the dr. what his thoughts were. He said they’re great, fun and helpful in detecting any possible facial abnormalities.  Cleft Palate immediately came to mind.  Not to be morbid, but it happens 1.94 per 1000 live births, and because of my ethnicity that percentage is a bit higher. And, I worry.  Jeff, on the other hand, wants to be completely surprised when our son arrives. Right now, we have an appointment set for a 3d ultrasound on July 6. We still have a few weeks to decide…

On a much brighter note, I asked the dr. about the correlation of genetics to size of babies. My brothers and I were all about 6 lbs. at birth. Even though my mom is 5’1″ on a good day, the doc said genetics are definitely in our favor. Though we don’t know baby’s estimated weight, all we do know is that he’s on the bigger side.

Because most of his patients are NYC-working commuters like me, the dr. also asked me if I had thought about my maternity leave/commuting plans. I told him that on top of the heat, my regular commute entails enduring 8 flights of stairs each day and dealing with people who aren’t always so compassionate. The bus/PATH commute is getting harder and harder every day. The walking is definitely good for circulation, but by the end of the week, it’s not my back that’s killing me, it’s my knees. The dr. suggested that perhaps I should start commuting more often on the ferry, especially on the hotter days. Since we were on the topic of commuting, I asked the dr. what his thoughts were on when I should stop commuting into the city. Then he said the very magical words: 4-2 weeks before your due date. If he granted me disability, I could be done by the end of August or Labor Day– commuting that is. I foresee myself working remotely up until I leave for the hospital. haha. I’ve been saying it all along, but it’s going to be one long and hot summer. Thank God June is almost done!
We also went over Pediatrician options in town, which really never occurred to me until now. I knew we’d have to choose one, but in relation to our town, I just didn’t think it would be this trivial. The dr. suggested that any of the three choices in town are great. First choice is the single dr. operation downtown where we’d have a more personalized experience, but it’s not the most convenient location. It’s likely that it would be difficult to get in touch with him, as opposed to a larger practice. The second choice is the large practice downtown which Jeff referred to as, the “trendy” office. I guess he thinks that more people flock to that office because of the convenient hours, large number of doctors, thus more patients and possibility of pretentious crap that runs rampant in our area. And finally, there’s the uptown office with the old school pair of drs. It’s a lot to think about, but much more than I’m willing to absorb right now. For now, I trust that word of mouth via our neighborhood website and friends’ recs will hopefully be a big help.

It’s still so hard to believe that next month’s dr. visit will be my last monthly visit. After that, we’ll be visiting him more frequently and then panic mode will officially begin.

