For the past month or so, I’ve been gagging endlessly and trying not to puke almost every hour of every day. Thankfully, I’m not actually puking, but I wish I could… As mentioned before, I feel hungover from the moment I get up to the minute I close my eyes at night. Some days are certainly worst than others, but on average, I pretty much feel ill every waking hour.

16real190.jpg To the various people that I’ve complained to about my “morning” sickness, it seems everyone has their own remedy. In addition, I’ve been reading what other pg. ladies have been doing on the message boards. For the most part, it’s the same mundane advice: try Sea Bands (those accupressure bands for motion sickness), gingerale, comfort food, etc. Sadly none of these suggestions have done a thing for me. If anything, I have more aversions to all of the above (and more!) Currently, I loathe Coke (gasp) or any soda, peas (?), some meat, cold coffee and anything too ‘smelly.’

The only things that seem to bring me any relief is taking a long nap and eating a lot of mini meals throughout the days. Sounds a lot like hibernating, no?

While I don’t mind the mini meals consisting of crackers, nuts and fruit, it’s hard to resist a cheeseburger or ice cream when I’m feeling really sorry for myself. ha. Other things I still love: ice cold bottled water, very ripe mango (lots of it!), mac and cheese, Trader Joe’s Oyster Crackers, these specific lemon drops, Ice Breakers sours and fresh fruit.

In a roundabout way, I’ve never been so grateful to feel so pukey and miserable. As I was telling someone the other day, all of this nausea and gagging makes me believe that things are hopefully going the way they’re supposed to… Well, according to the Times, this sickness doesn’t necessarily indicate a healthy pregnancy.  On a positive note however, morning sickness is associated with a lower rate of miscarriage.

While this all-day feeling of misery may plain old suck, I’ve never been happier for feeling this crappy!

