so what do I do? With my journalistic instinct, I immediately logged into our local library’s database to look up all of the latest and greatest baby books.

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

-Dr. Suess

Just ask my dad– I read a lot. Ever since kindergarten, I’ve had a love affair with books. I’d acquire as many as I could until I took over dad’s tool space in the garage. I was accused of having TOO many books. I went to the library when I was happy. I spent weekends there all during high school. And even, I used to scope out cute boys while I sat at my microfiche station.
Yeah.

It’s 25 years later, and though the circumstances are much different today, I still rely on reading tons of books. My local library is in a gorgeous 150-year old building and boasts such dramatic architecture. However, the baby book section was a little lacking. I did find a tall enough stack to bring home to start my research!

I left with several of the essentials: What to Expect When You’re Expecting, an old edition of Baby Bargains, Belly Laughs, How to Avoid Miscarriages (unbiased research, not trying to be morbid!) and How to Juggle Work and Pregnancy.

Based on whether I like the books or not, I plan on buying the books that I need for reference. And for anyone that cares, perhaps I’ll give my own personal reviews on the books. Off to hit the stacks!

